October is Breast Cancer Awareness Month
Reveal Mobile Menu Reveal Mobile Menu

1 Avenue N

 •  Haskell, TX 79521

 •  (940) 864-2621

Board of Directors
Haskell Memorial Hospital

HMH is advised by a six member volunteer board on behalf of Haskell County residents. All HMH board meetings are open to the public and are held in the HMH education building the fourth Tuesday of each month, January - November.

Board member, Jan Gannaway

Jan Gannaway

Retired Nurse, Covenant Hosptial

In 1961, Jan graduated from Haskell High School went on to spend three semesters at Abilene Christian University before transferring to Texas A&M. At A&M, Jan pursued English and Theater Arts and graduated in 1968. After graduation from A&M, Jan and her husband moved to El Paso and later Lubbock where Jan worked as a substitute teacher until she returned to school in 1990 to obtain a nursing degree from Methodist School of Nursing. For more than 10 years, Jan worked at Covenant Hospital in Lubbock in the Rehabilitation Institute. In 2008, Jan and her husband returned to Haskell to retire.

Jan and her husband John are high school sweethearts and have been married for 54 years. They have two children: Julia Janette Gannaway, who has a law firm in Ft. Worth and Jim Robert Gannaway who is an anthropologist at Texas Tech Museum.

Jan has served on Haskell Memorial Hospital Board of Directors for more than six years. In addition to Jan’s duties on the board, she serves as current First Lady of Haskell as John is marks his 4th term as mayor of Haskell.

Jan’s hobbies include working in the yard, reading and writing.

“HMH is an integral part of our community. It is important to have health care for our citizens and those of surrounding areas. HMH has answered the call providing competent and compassionate care for those in our area. We have remodeled, brought in extra physicians, upgraded our labs, secured a CAT Scan machine and have a helipad for those requiring more acute attention. It has been my pleasure to serve on this board.”

all board members